ABBA's Benny and Björn compose 'Eurovision anthem'

18 Apr 2013

  • Björn Ulvaeus, Christer Björkman, Ash, Benny Andersson and Martin Österdahl.

    Sweden’s biggest musical exports – ABBA's Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus – have composed an anthem for the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö next month.

    Swedish host broadcast Executive Producer Martin Österdahl (SVT) said "We Write the Story" will be performed for the first time at the final of the contest on 18 May. The song has been arranged by renowned Stockholm DJ and record producer Tim Bergling, known professionally as Avicii.

    "Benny, Björn and Avicii have created a unique piece of music for the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest," Mr Österdahl said. "This was our aim from the conception of this year's contest."

    Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus said the project had brought the duo a great deal of personal pleasure.

    "Martin Österdahl and Show Producer Christer Björkman from SVT presented us with a beautifully conceived vision for the contest," said Benny Andersson and Björn Ulvaeus. "This led us to collaborate with Avicii on a piece that is based around mutual understanding and fellowship. It’s a lot of fun and very inspiring.”

    ABBA's victory in 1974 with Waterloo was voted best ever Eurovision Song Contest song in the 50th anniversary Congratulations show in 2005.

    Thirty-nine public broadcasters have confirmed their participation in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest, which will take place in Malmö, Sweden, on 14, 16 and 18 May.

Share this page on